Page 1 of 3
I bet that someone like Paul Gilbert could probably play any guitar song he heard. Maybe not instantly, but definitely within ~1 week of practice. Guys like him and Malmsteen probably already mastered their technique in their 20s if not earlier. I think a graph of ability vs time would probably look something like this:

How long do you think it takes an average guitar player to reach the level where skill "flattens out"?
Pretty much never. There's literally an endless amount of styles out there to learn. Just because someones extremely great in one style or a couple doesn't mean they won't be complete beginners in another way of playing.
I agree....About the closest you might come are some of the studio musicians who might be called on to play in many different styles over a year or so, but as the late Tommy Tedesco said in his columns, they do a lot of cheatin.....
Lenny Breau grew up around Nashville studios, and he could play in a remarkable number of styles...Country, Atkins/Travis stuff, jazz, Latin/Flamenco, avant-garde jazz.......But that still leaves dozens if not hundreds of specialized forms to explore.
Trying to get your fingers around some of the African techniques takes a bit of work.
as much as i dislike steve vai's music, dude's a textbook example of a dude who can play anything. or he used to be, anyway. i miss him being with frank

anybody can master the guitar (missing arms and deafness notwithstanding...), but no one wants to put in the work. the "masters" spent several hours a day pounding on their fundamentals, in every instrument, just like in every field of art where talent is prevalent

tenacity is far more important than any inherent, natural talent
modes are a social construct
Last edited by Hail at Aug 11, 2015,
No, I think it would be impossible to master any and all styles in a single lifetime, though someone who could read SN fluently could doubtless cover a lot of written musical ground.