Hey guys,

well, in all honesty this is "just another" 7 string thread. However, I felt like I needed to formulate my question a bit differently since I'm not set on a specific price range for a new guitar yet.

Situation:
I've been playing on an Ibanez RG 7321 for more than 10 years now (well, sometimes more and sometimes less) and really feel like I need something new. I replaced the bridge pickup a with Crunch Lab 7 recently, which was a really nice upgrade, but still I'm not completely happy with it any more. The intonation isn't perfect even with the best setup, especially on the B string; it doesn't seem to have as much "power" as I like; and frankly, I'm just getting bored of it .

Since I heard so much praise about that guitar and how it even compares to much more expensive instruments, I would like to know at what price range I should search for new instruments to really notice an improvement. Any specific recommendations would also be nice.

Some things to consider:
- I like tuning around a lot (switch to drop tuning for one song, maybe half a step down for the next, etc.), so I guess a fixed bridge is perferable. If Tremolo ones are better, I could live with that though and use my 7321 for alternate tunings.
- I don't want a pure "metal axe", but be able to be versatile, if that is an issue with some guitars

From my internet research, I was really liking the Ibanez Steve Vai Signature models sound-wise (not a fan, they just look awesome and sound good ), although that might have been just a nicer amp-setting/setup in comparison...always hard to say. The 7VWH especially looks stunningly beautiful, but I guess that one's a bit overpriced. UV70P seems nice though. Unfortunately those guitars would cause me much trouble with their tremolos I guess, so I'm not sure if that would be a good option.