I'm a guitarist and singer in "band". I say " band" because vits been quite awhile since we've done anything. I continually write music all the time. But I'm not even sure they even touch their instruments. They have other interests and jobs and it seems like their more focused on the those things. They're both amazing musicians when they actually play and musicians in general are scarce in my area. So what I'm asking is, how do I get them to understand my viewpoint and get motivated? I miss playing in a band and I just want to play music. Cheers!
Be upfront and sincere. Explain that you really want to keep playing music and that you want to do it with them. If they don't want to pursue music as much as you do, you'll move on. They're not screwing you over and you're not ditching them. These things just happen.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
Its important that the members of any band be on the same page in terms of motivation and commitment in order for the band to work. Set goals for the band (gigs, recordings, promotion etc). If members don't want to commit then its probably time to find new blood.

If you're a singer and a guitarist you can consider going out solo, not to say abandon the idea of a band but have this option so either way you can still go out and gig.
electric collars
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
I had the same issue. I simply told them to get it together or I'd find someone to replace them. It sucks to do that but now it's running on all cylinders. Dead weight will just slow everything down.
also i'll add that it's far easier to teach someone how to play music than to teach someone how to want to play music
Quote by Kevätuhri

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.