so im beginning to work on recording my own music. as far as the band goes im going to be recording guitar, bass and vocals myself, and using a drum program to make the track. i was curious if anyone has any tips for sound deadening for a guitar amp. i was considering building a large box and lining it with some shaggy carpet or something like that, i dont know how that would effect the sound though. im on a tight budget so any "cheap" ideas would be helpful. tips for recording vocals would be great as well cause i have no experience in doing that whatsoever.

also, i was hoping someone could recommend a good mic that can get high quality recordings of guitars and vocals. i know nothing about mics other than that Shure is a good brand lol. im going to be recording directly to audacity on my pc so keep this in mind.

thanks for any help you can give me
Ibanez S7521qm 7 string
Ibanez S771pb
Fender Jaguar HH Special
PRS SE Custom 24 7 string
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Yep, build a box with carpeting or pillows inside. Buy an SM58 if you ever want to use it live. A Rode NT1a can be found for around $150 used and is a good first condenser mic. Now Go record something and post it on YouTube.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Look up "iso cabinet".
In the studio we had portable panels on wheels that had sound isolation that we moved around to lower the guitar bleed, but if you're recording by yourself you can possibly just track on headphones and let it bleed unless you have neighbors that will complain. In that case sticking it in a closet with heavy U-Haul moving blankets might help or iso cabs.
Cajundaddy means SM57 I think.