I am new to guitar theory and thus I want to ask you about the thing in the topic.
Do you do it via programs like Transcribe! and find every note via matching it with the looped and slowed replay of part of the song or you support yourself with part of musical theory to do it efficiently? If the second one is a viable choice then what kind of knowledge do I need to cover songs myself?
I usually just listen to the melody and then play it on my instrument. It's very easy to do once you figure out the key, which is also easy. Figuring out the chords can also make it easier to figure out the melody.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
You kinda just sit down and do it. Use your ears, your memory, your voice, and your instrument. And try to work out whole phrases at a time when you can, not just individual notes. Your ears won't develop by playing hunt-and-peck with single notes.
It depends what my aim is. If I want to learn something complex, playing a melody over a rhythm, or a difficult and complex guitar piece, then I will like to use a program like transcribe.

If it is just learning the chords to a pop song I like, I can sometimes do it from memory, or on one or two play throughs of the track. or I might replay a section a couple times to get it, using whatever audio thing I am listening to it on.

If I am using transcribe, theory doesn't come into it too much, I just listen and pick out the notes and find them. It's more sort of surgical at that point.

If it is listening to a pop song, then definitely theory comes a lot more into play for me.

You will want to learn about roman numerals/functional harmony, and get a lot of experience with it. It's kind of something you learn from learning a lot of songs, which lets you learn songs more easily. Not so much something you read in a book that helps you ear out songs now.
Last edited by fingrpikingood at Aug 15, 2015,