Being a self-taught guitarist I've realised my technique is far from ideal. Not really been a problem; Until now (as taking things a bit more serious).

I've realised that when playing on the high E-string through G-string I've got my pick held down as per most recommendations ( not parallel to the string), cutting through with minimal arm movement, utilising the wrist.

However, when I'm moving to the lower strings my hand twists, so I'm picking with the pick facing upwards (kind of). So any quick pinched harmonics are a bit bloody awkward to say the least. I've got a horrible feeling what the advice might be , so any tips ( other than start from scratch ).

Many thanks

Paul
make the adjustment simple as that. will it take some effort probably but that's the way it goes.
Can we see a picture? Might just have to change where the pick sits in your fingers.
Well the question to me is: when you move to the lower strings, is the movement all coming from your wrist as well?

Ideally what should be happening is that your wrist should do all the actual picking motion, but you should be using your elbow to keep your hand in a good, consistent position to the strings. While a lot of people certainly can use their wrist to move all the way from the low E to the high E, I don't believe you should; different muscle groups should do different things, so they each have their responsibilities:

Hand in general, thumb, and fingers: hold the pick, keep it at a good angle, make sure it's not going anywhere you don't want it to.

Wrist: the actual picking motion, just getting the pick back and forth across the strings. If you have to move quickly from one string to another then the wrist is all right to do it (think Paul Gilbert style string skipping), but I don't believe you should do it all the time.