New to guitar, I've been playing for about 2 months now. I need help pretty badly.

I have all the chords down and even know a few songs pretty well. However, one thing I suck at is figuring out strumming patterns. I learned all the chords for this Black Sun by Death Cab for Cutie (specifically this acoustic version) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hENqtlk0HM&feature=youtu.be, but I can't figure out the damn strumming pattern!! Nothing sounds right and it's really frustrating.

I always fall back on D D U U D U but that doesnt sound right for every song. Can someone please help? Nothing sounds right when I play it with that.

I'd really appreciate someone telling me a more detailed strumming pattern that sounds right for that song, but also some information on how to listen to the song and watch them play and figure out strumming patterns in general, because there are a few other songs that just dont sound right because I'm using the wrong patterns! Thank you!
The thing is you're now getting towards learning songs that don't have a simple down-up style strumming pattern. This song is more complex than that, and while I know what I'm doing I actually don't know that I can properly articulate what you need to do.

Basically you need to go beyond thinking simply in strumming patterns; the guy in that video is using different groups of strings to accent different beats, he's using picking hand dynamics to further that. You're going to need to elevate yourself beyond simple down-up thinking to get this song sounding right.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.