A recent discussion of restringing brought back a question that has bothered me for some time. Why do some guitarists coil up the excess wire at the tuning peg, rather than cutting it off?

I was once offered an explanation about repairing a broken string on the fly, but that didn't make much sense.
Dave Bowers

Instruments
Martin D-28
Martin/Sigma DR12-7
Martin Dreadnought Junior
Washburn EA25SNB
Epiphone F-112 Bard
Epiphone Les Paul Special II
I think people do this just because they think it looks cool, just as years ago they'd stick their cigarette on the end of an uncut string.
There's no physical reason I can think of.

Back when I started playing in the 70s, a guy I knew said that cutting the string "sent a vibration through it" that would shorten the life....
I refrained from pointing out that the whole reason strings exist is to vibrate....
it looks badass

Quote by slapsymcdougal
You can tell if it's eager, because you put your hand down her pants and it feels like a horse eating oats.

Nicest compliment on my looks:
Quote by slapsymcdougal
Putting the 'sex' in 'convicted sex offender'.
Quote by icanhasgodmode
it looks badass

Uhhh, it looks pretty terrible. It's about the same type of "badass" as scratching a guitar's finish with a key.

I absolutely have no idea why people do that, and it's pretty much dangerous. Wouldn't want to experience being hit in the eye by that (and it's totally possible), and I think everyone who has ever restrung a guitar will agree that the seemingly innocent thin unwound ****ers are the worst.
Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
There's no point in trying to convince a moron.
This is a trick question....., right?

I thought people stopped doing this after drip candles went out of style.

Plus, given the era, "catching the waves", (or cosmic rays), could only be done by leaving the strings uncut and coiled, (coiled = very important), on a Martin dreadnought.