So I'm a huge gear noob. I have a L6 DT50 and it's nothing special. I'm going to be touring soon and I've been looking at ENGL amps as they seem to be simple enough, the fireball has apparently great tight low/mid ends when playing (God forbid I mention the D word, a tone I happen to particularly like) djent tones. In general I'm looking to be as heavy as I can but never sacrifice clarity for anything. The ENGL's also have built in noise gates which I would like even if they aren't perfect, as I like to not have huge amounts of buzzing/humming pedals in front of my amp to get that kinda stuff.

Now here's the nooby question. My DT50 has 4 voicings, and 2 channels A/B. That's what I want so I can switch between clean/distorted

Does the Fireball 100w have seperate channels so I can switch? It only has one set of knobs so how would that work? I know that my crappy L6 Spider jam thing has it so where you change presets the knob positions don't matter but as soon as you touch the knob it will then jump to whatever place you have the knob at. Therefore allowing many diff "channels" I guess with only one set of knobs. Is this how the Fireball works?

If I won't be able to switch between clean/distorted then I'll just get a powerball or something.

I feel like this is a super dumb question as I'm sure that for 1.8k it has the ability to do that. But hey, you gotta learn sometime!

EDIT: ADDITIONAL QUESTION, does anyone know what the front panel/grate is made of? Is it plastic or metal?
Last edited by King Elijah at Aug 21, 2015,
1. the fireball 100 has two channels, with separate gain and master volume controls and shared EQ.
The two channels will use the same EQ settings simply.

2. it's plastic, no engl has a metal front panel.

I'd recommend a powerball 2, it does djent better imo (I could sound like djent with a vintage spec'd tele, it was awesome ) and it has two EQ for four channels.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne