OK so I apologise in advance for what might appear on first inspection to be a rambling post but it is pertinent to the point, believe me!

I have been playing guitar for ~30 years nearly but in all honesty, I have learned very little (the perils of being self taught with little talent I suppose). Nobody ever taught me to play or how to set up an amp; I just plugged in and went. Now I have played some gigs to a few hundred people so I am not entirely ignorant but I am now at the stage of life where I want a decent set up in my music room (ie spare room in my house) to jam away as the mood takes me. Nothing fancy, just some budget amps. Having moved house recently, with some spare cash I treated myself to a Gibson Les Paul Standard and a Fender Strat American Standard ad I figured it was time I learned to make them sound as good as possible.

The question is; for years, I have just plugged into the clean channel of whatever amp I have been using and used various pedals to dirty the sound up but I am starting to think that is not such a good approach. I use a small Orange Crush and a Washburn South Side amp (I have a Boss chorus pedal that sounds crap unless I use both outputs to two amps). Both amps have push buttons to engage overdrive. I always thought this a little pointless; after all, I'm not going to stop halfway through a song and push the button to get overdrive right? But playing around the other day, I found a nice sound when I ran my Boss SD pedal with the gain turned down and my Tube Screamer together. So in effect, I was playing with the SD pedal on constantly, adding a teeny bit of grit and the TS-9 when I wanted full-bore mode. So now I am experimenting with running the amps with the overdrive button pushed in and using the pedals to add shade.