I noticed today that my guitars all sound better when I have them directly connected to my amps instead of going into a set of true bypass pedals first. I tried all the pedals individually, tried different cables and a bunch of different guitars (Epi Les Paul Standard, MIA Peavey Predator, Peavey T-60 and others). It was true for all three of my amps (Fender Princeton Chorus, Crate V5 and Vox ADVT50 Valvetronix). Any time there was anything - tuner, wah pedal, phaser, compressor, flanger or digital delay, all turned off and supposedly true bypass - between the guitar and the amp, the guitar sound was missing some of the treble bit and sounded a bit "dead". On the other hand, if I connected the two cables directly to each other by a double-female connector, no change in sound. So it's not the cables, it's something about the pedals (all Joyo's except the Dunlop wah and a Seiko in-line tuner). If this is a well-known phenomenon, I apologize, but I've been playing for three years and never heard anyone mention this before. The current solution is to move all the pedals to the effects loop of the Princeton Chorus where they don't seem to hurt the sound when they're switched off. The downside is that I can no longer use them with my other two amps.

Any idea what's up?
the extra length of guitar cable when using the pedals is what is making the highs go away. You would actually be better off if one of your pedals was buffered (a good buffer) this will help add the highs back in.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Lots of true bypass pedals in a chain suck tone as much as a shitty wah. If you want to run all those pedals you need a buffer or two in the chain. Analogman makes nice buffer pedals.