Hey all, I have a question about writing riffs, I am still fairly new to guitar but am trying to learn all the time so I can get better, but riffs have stumped me , I am struggling to understand how musicians write riffs and also sing over a riff.

From what I have gathered so far is if playing a riff and singing at the same time its best to use arpeggios, is this right? and why... is it because arpeggios use the same notes as the chords use so it doesn't mess with the vocal melody?

also is it possible to write a song with just your normal chords and a vocal melody and then once this is done slap a riff on top? or is this not something that is done? Because the way I write music is come up with my melody or chord structure first so writing riffs over the top for me would be easier... I think, or is it not possible doing it this way..

Thanks guys, I really appreciate any help that you can give me!
Last edited by heaven086 at Aug 23, 2015,
Well, a riff is just a repeating pattern. It can be anything.

If you want to write a riff based on a chord progression, I think the first thing to come up with is the rhythm. Just strumming the chords to a certain rhythm will start to sound like a riff. That's actually what many riffs are about. For example the riff of Highway to Hell is just A, D and G chords played to a certain rhythm. It has a lot of rests in it that gives space to the vocals. This is of course not what you always want to do. The chorus of the same song uses the same chords (well, not exactly the same order, but it's just those three chords), but the rhythm is different. Also, the chords take a lot more space than in the verse. There are no rests, the chords are ringing all the time. This way the song has dynamics.

Yeah, you usually don't want the riff behind the singing melody to be too complex, because the melody should be the main focus.

But yeah, just use your ears. That's the best way to write music. If it sounds good, it is good.
Quote by AlanHB