Hey UG,

I've been saving up some money since I'm moving in a few weeks and I'd like to have an electric guitar at my new place as well. I've saved up for about 400 euros for now and at the moment I've got my eye on a Epiphone Les Paul standard. I'd love to hear your experiences with it (for the owners of people who've played one before), and also if you have any similar suggestions for in that price range. Also considering buying a used guitar, but since I've never done it before I'd like to get some advice on what to look (out) for.

Regards,
Tim
The black Epi LP Standards are gorgeous. I've heard they are really good players as well.
Well I can tell you that the Epi Les Paul Standard is a pretty solid guitar - I've played a couple and enjoyed them and I tend to think Epiphones at that price range are good for the money; if you can go used I'd say look for a higher-end Epi model (I know the Tribute Plus is probably their best-regarded Les Paul but I'm not sure about prices).

I'm sure there are various other brands that produce good stuff for that kind of money, but I can't really think of any other Les Paul copies at that price point (anyone know how much Burnys sell for used?), so hopefully someone can add their recommendations.

Also, if you could say what country you're in and what kind of music you want to play, that'd help.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
Youre officially uber shit now.

Quote by StewieSwan
3d9310rd is far more upset than i 
Last edited by K33nbl4d3 at Aug 24, 2015,
Thanks for the quick replies! I agree with TobusRex completely, I especially adore the look of more sunburst like epi's.

I'm looking at marktplaats (e-bay, but then for the Netherlands) and I can find some decently priced LP Standard's but the Tribute you suggest is hardly purchasable anywhere here (besides new for around 700 euros which is too much for me).