Hey!

I've been using a BOSS BR-1200 for all my recordings which has been fab although it is slowly giving up the ghost and I'm trying to prepare something else for when it stops working completely..

My only requirement is that it has an in built drum machine, as I'm not a drummer and record my music on my own, having presets that I could tweak has been great and not having to do it all from scratch..

Are there any recommendations out there, money really isn't an issue..

Thanks!
I think you'd be better off finding a recorder that is just a recorder and buy a separate drum machine. I still use and Alesis SR 16 24 bit drum machine and new they are only $150.00 and on EBay you can pick up ones for about $50-75.00 and they sound awesome.

I have been using a Tascam 2488 24 track for about 12 years now and it has held up really well (and I often travel with it in a hard shell case). I am going to replace it with the newer Tascam DP32 very soon. They are only $400.00 for the 24 track DP24 and $500.00 for the DP32with 32 tracks. They both have the same effects (reverbs, delays, compressors etc.) and some built in mastering software. They also have 8 inputs both high impedance and low impedance and you can record up to 8 tracks simultaneously They record to SD cards so you can easily save a card when you fill it up and put in a new one. You can export any recordings (tracks or mixes) into a computer by just pulling out the card and inserting it into your computers SD card slot or transfer directly with a USB connection between the Tascam and a computer. I have owned Tascam recording gear since the 70's and have never had a problem. Check out some YouTube videos on the Tascam DP24 or Tascam DP32. If you do decide to buy one get David Will's DVD on the Tascam DP line. He is great and will have you up and recording in 15 minutes with your background you may not need the DVD but there are little tricks David shows you that the manual is not as good at explaining.