So I've been playing guitar for like 7 years now, but I didn't start getting into theory until a few months ago. I'm mostly self-taught, so I've been stuck in some places.

I'm writing a song, and I have a riff that combines multiple scales, of the same key of course. It sounds good to me, and the way I see it many bands don't strictly stick to the rules in their riffs.

It goes something like this: 1st bar Phrygian dominant, 2nd bar minor, 3rd and 4th bars Phrygian dominant, and at the end of the 4th bar the 7th note of harmonic minor. On repeat, it's the same, but this time at the end of the 4th bar I'm using notes from the blues scale. The riff consists of mostly power chords.

I'm mostly using mutual notes between the scales, but it's at the end of each bar that I introduce notes characteristic to one of the scales.

My question is, would it be theoretically correct to do this? I also have another question. If I have a backing track, and throughout the entire track there's only one power chord, D5. Then this means I can basically play any mode, or combination of modes, that's in they key of D, right?
Very interesting ideas you've got there! Yes, power chords are so popular in metal because of that ambiguity, which basically means you can go nuts with your choice of scales. Now, you may have trouble laying a vocal melody or a solo on top, especially if the tempo is fairly rapid. That doesn't mean it's insurmountable, though - take chances, experiment and explore. Your ear is the best guide for this, since you are the boss of your music. And as for the rules - they're meant to be broken. Don't take my word for it - check out Albinoni's Adagio in G Minor and you'll hear (and hopefully see if you can read music) that he goes nuts with modulations, although he connects them smoothly to each other via common chords, so your approach is, I think, more than valid.

Play on, mate! Enjoy the study of theory, it'll help you produce all sorts of cool sounds!