Hi guys, I recently bought an Epiphone Les Paul off a mate, and noticed it buzzed or hummed quite loudly unless you touch any metal part or the guitar (i need to touch at least 3 fingers on the strings, one isn't enough to eliminate it).
A few minutes research suggested it has a grounding problem, but after taking it to a tech, he said it's completely normal for a guitar with humbuckers, and the point was for the player to become the ground. He suggested buying different pickups if cancelling the hum was important to me.

I'm only a beginner so I trust what the expert told me to some extent, I'm just after some more opinions on the subject, perhaps from other Les Paul owners, as this amount of hum doesn't feel normal.

My other guitar, an LTD ec-50, has no hum whatsoever, which is what originally sparked my curiosity. I'm using a Roland Cube 20gx amp.

So if it really does come down to upgrading the pickups, which i don't mind doing if i have to since i got the guitar for a mates rates price. What would you suggest.
Quote by james_couch59
he said it's completely normal for a guitar with humbuckers, and the point was for the player to become the ground

But seriously, it's not normal, assuming you don't crank the gain up to 11 or the humbuckers are complete garbage (which shouldn't be the case in an Epiphone LP). Could be a ground wire problem, or it needs shielding. Both can be done by yourself.
Quote by slapsymcdougal
You can tell if it's eager, because you put your hand down her pants and it feels like a horse eating oats.

Nicest compliment on my looks:
Quote by slapsymcdougal
Putting the 'sex' in 'convicted sex offender'.
Ow and it's hum, not buzz. Buzz is usually when the strings rattle against the fretwire and the guitar needs adjusting
Quote by slapsymcdougal
You can tell if it's eager, because you put your hand down her pants and it feels like a horse eating oats.

Quote by slapsymcdougal