I primarily have personal experience with metal and jazz stuff. So I know of the awesomeness that is the Roland Jazz Chorus, Fender Twin Reverb, 6505/5150, Dual rect, and the Marshall JCM800. I also have respect for those tube vox amps and orange amps and cabinets.

My question is, as a studio, what should I look into purchasing to have on hand for people to use that will get me the farthest, as far as versatility goes? If i had to pick 4 amplifiers, what should they be?

I am a guitarist, so I will definitely go check the amps you guys recommend out to see how they work and what not, but my opinion may differ from that of the masses, and I kinda need something to satisfy the opinion of the masses in order to record music other than the local metal bands with no money.

Also, I do understand that good amps are expensive, but if there are cheaper versions that can get a good sound in the studio, like the vox ac15 as opposed tot he ac30, could you please list those instead? Are old used tube amps worth it compared to brand new? In looking at prices, the biggest damages look like they will be coming from the Marshall and Fender amps...
Are you operating your studio as a business? If so I recommend having a Brit and a USA amp on hand and let players bring their own for the rest. A Fender Champ and a Marshall Class 5 will do. Stocking the room with a bunch of cool amps will feed your ego but will not bring in high $$ clients. The trick in this day and age is having really well developed recording chops by working with the best in the biz and getting credits on successful recordings. The best way to make a small fortune with a recording studio business these days is to start with a large fortune.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan