Hi all,
I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now, and I'm pretty decent at it. I can play chords, solo's, fingerstyle... people say I play very nice. Now the problem is, I don't feel like I "understand" music as much as I want. Yes, give me tabs and I can't learn almost anything, give me chords I can play it, but I'd like to understand it all together better, why those chords work together, why is he playing that scale over those chords. And the reason I want to do this is to reach my goal, which is I'd like to learn to jam and improvise. For example, when a friends start playing some song (chord progression), I'd like to know what scales/notes to use to improvise on it.
What I do now is I look at the chords he is playing, I pick one and I play over with the pentatonic scale of that chords (for example, if I see that one of the chords is E minor I improvise with E minor pentatnoic). And sometimes this works well, but I want to discover other, better ways to do this.
Quote by Lukapro
And the reason I want to do this is to reach my goal, which is I'd like to learn to jam and improvise. For example, when a friends start playing some song (chord progression), I'd like to know what scales/notes to use to improvise on it.
What I do now is I look at the chords he is playing, I pick one and I play over with the pentatonic scale of that chords (for example, if I see that one of the chords is E minor I improvise with E minor pentatnoic)

I approach every song differently. Most Blues is the same 3 chord changes so its fairly easy to memorize the change patterns and really work the changes while at the same time time throwing in lots of other ideas like minor pentatonic, mixolydian and diminished arpeggios.

Most rock is pretty easy really. The best thing to do is practice the chord changes first in some positions you like to play in then perhaps throw in some scale patterns on top of that.