Hi there,

I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now and being honest have gotten virtually nowhere in terms of skill level/ ability to improvise. So I decided this year that I would shall we say "go back to basics" and start learning the blues. I wanted to play more rock, hardrock and metal but from what small amount of research I have done I have found that all these styles borrow from and stem from the blues.

So while I am taking lessons online through Jamplay(please leave your opinions on Jamplay aside for the sake of not starting a flame war in this thread if you wouldn't mind) I have found their blues lessons to be a pain interms of that there aren't alot of blues songs on their site to learn alongside the technique and theory lessons.

So I am asking those who are farmiliar to recommend not songs , but good blues albums that will allow me to train my ear and the learn the blues the right way , by studying the greats .

Can you help me please?

I am not looking for responses like type blues into youtube.....that doesn't help at all.

(just another note please be civil and try not to be at eachothers throats haha )
Quote by Johnnysd
Live at the Regal is a must I feel.

And/or Cook County Jail.

Very strong (mostly 12-bar) more modern ('80s) electric blues on Stevie Ray Vaughan's Texas Flood.

Peter Green-era Fleetwood Mac has some really nice blues tracks, so if you pick up the compilation of Peter Green Fleetwood Mac stuff whatever it was called, that has some nice mostly-pentatonic soloing.

Allman Brothers Live at Fillmore East has some fantastic pieces both in a 12-bar format and other jams.

Pre-war stuff isn't my area and I'm not sure most of that stuff would help you with starting out soloing but I'm sure there are good recs others could offer.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
Youre officially uber shit now.

Quote by StewieSwan
3d9310rd is far more upset than i 

Quote by Bladez22