After I tried a Bugera 5-pin footswitch on my Peavey Stereo Chorus' 7-pin input. The chorus on the Peavey won't turn off so I figured I'd try a different footswitch. It started out fine for a minute, then began clicking the channel back and forth rapidly. And then the smoke came. What the heck did I do to my amp?! Thanks
Oh I forgot to introduce myself! I enjoy jazz and I've been playing for about 10 years. But I don't know a thing about music theory lol
your post doesn't make sense, so useful advice would be near impossible. like how can you use a 5 pin footswitch on a 7 pin input. and how could this ever cause an amp to meltdown (as the switching system should only effect a few relays). using my limited knowledge of amps i would guess your meltdown had nothing to do with the footswitch
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
Quote by gumbilicious
your post doesn't make sense, so useful advice would be near impossible. like how can you use a 5 pin footswitch on a 7 pin input. and how could this ever cause an amp to meltdown (as the switching system should only effect a few relays). using my limited knowledge of amps i would guess your meltdown had nothing to do with the footswitch

This.
Like how do you put a 5 pin connector on a 7 pin connector without breaking something?

As far as making the amp smoke?
Easy answer.
A lot of those foot switches work by shorting 2 or more of the pins together (Unless its MIDI).
Putting a 5 pin Bugera foot switch connector to a Peavey 7 pin connector, who knows what the hell its shorting together inside the amp?
You could be pushing a power signal through a relay's latching connections.
Or a power signal straight to ground, or any of a number of locations.
Probably not a good thing.

Like on my Vox, the Tremolo/Reverb switch cable has DC going through it (otherwise, how would it light up the LEDs in the foot switch?).
It uses a stereo cable.