I'm planning on buying the kemper profiling amp.
First off I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to amps and speakers. I've wasted over $1500 buying pedals and amps to try and get the sound I was looking for and never got it, but looking at this higher end stuff it's exactly what I need.

So anyway, I'm not sure what kind of speaker cabinet I would need to operate this. I contacted the support for it and they said if it's the power head you get I need a passive cab, and if it's the regular one which is the one I'm going to get since the store I buy from doesn't have the power head I'm going to need an active cab. He didn't really explain what these are. What are the differences between an active and passive cab?

I looked online for some Marshall cabs and they don't list whether it's an active or passive cab. How am I supposed to know?

https://www.long-mcquade.com/18024/Guitars/Guitar_Amps/Access/Kemper_Profiling_Amplifier.htm#Reviews-tab

^ that is the profiler. So yeah if you could explain what a passive and active cab does and what it is, and maybe even recommend be the right gear I need to run this that would be great. Thanks.
a passive cab (un-powered) doesn't have an amplifier built in. you have to have an amplifier to power it. an active cab (powered) has an amplifier built in, so you don't need anything else to power it.

the rest of this is out of my area of expertise, so i will let the regulars jump in and help you out.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)