Hey everyone, I have a marshall AS50R . Im a novice and I don't know much about amps.

My amp will play audio very faintly then It will like pop and when I turn it up way loud and the sound will be working again for about 5 mins then eventually cut back down to soft.

Any ideas?
I could make a video with a demo too if you think that would help.
Sounds like a bad solder connection somewhere.
Maybe the input jacks.
Also check the wires connected to the speaker.

Video might help.
Quote by CodeMonk
Sounds like a bad solder connection somewhere.
Maybe the input jacks.
Also check the wires connected to the speaker.

Video might help.

I have 2 guitar cable jacks and an white and red input and a mic in jack and they all fade/cut at the same spots. if that info helps at all.

Does this sound like a spendy fix? Guestimate ?
Probably not input jacks then.
Check your speaker connections next.

No idea on cost.
That's a highly variable figure.
Amp Techs typically charge a minimum of $50 almost no matter what is wrong with it,
With tubes amps, 90% of time you have problems with tube amps, its the tubes.
But you have a Solid State amp. Harder to diagnose unless the tech has experience with that particular amp.
With some solid state amps, if you have a problem chances are someone else out there has had that problem too, sometimes due to a flaw in the design or a history of bad QC (Quality Control), or some other factor.

Although with many Solid State amps, a common failure point is the power amp chip, which generally cost about $5.00 for that part.

You could Google your amp symptoms and see if there is a pattern.
Don't forget to include amp name and model when doing that.

The again, it could be something as simple as a bad solder joint inside the amp.
I've seen a shitload of those, especially around wires.

Try doing just one connection at a time and see if the same thing happens.
If after testing all of them separately, and if you get no issues, then try again.