I have recently been eye-balling the black label chorus pedal and was wonder how much you really end up using it? I know there are some really famous songs that use the chorus just right and it sounds teriffic. It seems less and less people are saving room in their pedal board for chorus. I have never used one before and wouldn't mind adding some dimension. Any input on the best way to use it and how often it is used would be awesome.

Thanks,
Tyson
ESP Iron Cross Sig model, Fernandes RetroRocket Sunburst, Taylor 214CE, Peavey XXX Super 40, DimeBag Crybaby from Hell, Zakk Wylde Overdrive, MXR Chorus, and a Flashback Delay and Looper.
Classic and 80s rock definitely used a lot of it. Too much, in fact.

For metal, it isn't used as much. However, when used sparingly with a slow modulation and fairly large sweep, it can really add a nice shimmer to clean passages when used in conjunction with reverb and delay. I've never been a real fan of how chorus sounds with overdrive, but that's just me.
Atmospheric dark metal w/ black and death metal influences:
(My Soundcloud page):

Pestilential Flood
In 80s hair metal, it's (over)used all the time. Personally, I have mine (BOSS CH-1) always on, and set for very light chorus.
Gear:
Jackson Dinky (JB+59) > TC Polytune Noir > TS808 clone > DOD 250 > Modded RAT > CH-1 > GE-7 > TC Flashback > Plexi Clone
Some heavy metal guitarists use it live with distortion, for example Zak Wilde and Petrucci .I think it sounds awesome, it adds a lot of depth. Personally I always mix some chorus with my distortion.
i am not a huge fan of MXR choruses. look at a malekko chorus. i picked up one for around $75 from reverb and i love it. really small footprint too.

as far as chorus being used in metal, i am with the general consensus to the above posts.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7