Page 1 of 2
Hi everyone,

Was just wondering what people are doing to practice songs. I have been learning a song for weeks now and I can finally play it however when I go to record it I just simply can't get it perfect. So frustrating. I am self taught so I have never had someone tell me how I should be practicing things. Can anyone shed some insight into their practice routine so I can too get the most out my practice sessions and any help with settling the nerves of recording.

Thanks guys.

Peace
just do it till it's right

then do it more

then do it until you hate that song so much you never want to hear it again

and do that for everything you love until you wonder why the hell you even wanted to make or listen to music to begin with

then join a music theory forum to be a bully to steer people away from this expensive and horrible hobby
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Hail killed MT
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
In a nutshell, do what has already been said.

What you described is normal. When you record something you immediately put it under the microscope. Every tiny flaw becomes instantly noticeable. Your definition of "perfect" changes dramatically.
Haha I was foolish to think there would be a shortcut haha. I already find my life is pretty much just work and guitar practice, not that it's a bad thing :P
"Perfect" is one of those irritating words when it comes to performing music.
Ideally it should mean "the best performance you can manage at this moment in time".
It doesn't have to (and almost certainly shouldn't) mean "identical to the original", nor does it have to mean "better than you did it last time" (although it probably will). It certainly doesn't mean "with no mistakes." It just has to work for the moment, and for whatever the venue or audience is.