Hello everyone,
Let me begin by saying that I am a novice when it comes to guitar gear.

So I recently saw the Top 8 list on UG and I got the idea that multi-effect pedals were frowned upon. First of all, if this is indeed the case, I'd like to ask why? Is it because they're overpriced and the quality of the effects isn't all that good?

I recently got to test a RP355 that my uncle lent me for a few months. I found it to be pretty amazing, and the fact that there was an online library with tones created by other people was immensely helpful in helping me understand it better. Being able to record my own stuff by connecting it to my computer was also incredibly cool.

Now, I was thinking of buying a multi-effect processor for myself because
1) I want to record some covers just for fun (the audio quality of the recordings was great)
2) It has a multitude of effects that allowed me to replicate a lot of tones incredibly accurately (I remember Another Brick In The Wall, Shine On You Crazy Diamond's clean solos, Maiden's and Sabbath's stuff...) for a relatively cheap price (150~200&euro.

I just noticed that the RP355 was discontinued. Are there better alternatives that have the same features (online library where the community can share settings and easily download them, being able to connect it to a PC and record stuff..)?

Thank you for your answers and I apologize if this is not the correct forum/sub-forum, it's my first time posting here.
Last edited by bzaina2 at Sep 29, 2015,
In my experience, multi-effects with their own distortion can be really finicky with how they are hooked up. Often the unit wants a direct input of sorts. A normal guitar amp with a multi-effects producing it's own distortion can lead to some undesirable sounds. Not always the case though. But amp sims and distortion seem to work best in a direct input situation, like to a PA.