I ordered a custom guitar online, that worth nearly 3560$, and received it a few days ago. It has a swamp ash body and I found some knots on the back of the guitar. I know knots which are not on the neck, wouldn't damage the guitar. But considering the price of the guitar, I wonder if its alright to have those knots or not.

I've contact the customer of service and they said its pretty normal to have them on ash body. What do you think?
Being a luthier myself, I would have asked the customer first if some imperfections were acceptable and showed him/her the chosen piece of wood. It's just a matter of aesthetics because those knots wont really have any negative impact on the instrument, however I think they should have contacted you before going on with the build. It's expensive and custom made, they should have done a better job than that, in terms of customer service.

Anyway, I think it looks good and those knots make it unique, which is also the point of a custom instrument. Don't worry about them being a problem, if the wood was properly stored and treated it will be just fine regardless of those knots
Personally I like it. I think that it adds character to it and definitely adds the "one of a kind" vibe, which is what you were probably after from the start. I agree with Bank though, they could have at least given you the heads up. Fault on customer service, still a beautiful guitar.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Orange TV50H 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
I have several very high-end guitars that are done of maple burls, etc., and they feature whorls, knots and even bark inclusions. Some of the guitars date to the mid-70's and have been absolutely stable. Not worrisome at all, and as long as they're not on the neck, it's got some character.
sooo.... what's this thing look like from the front?
Quote by Diemon Dave
Don't go ninjerin nobody don't need ninjerin'