Hi Guys!

Over the years that I have been playing I have developed a strong ear and am able to work well with melodies and use my ear for songwriting as well as playing the guitar. However as I am self taught I of course just wanted to do the fun stuff as kid and never really paid much attention to theory at all.

I would like to progress further in my playing, whilst my technical ability is of a high standard I hate the fact that I have no idea of what i am playing and when put in a situation to jam or improvise with a backing track i have to work by ear. I am ok with this but i do find that it limits my playing and just as a whole I would like to develop a better understanding of music.

I wanted to ask for advice, it would be great if people could share their thoughts on what things I should be learning and in what order. Obviously Youtube and the internet is a great tool but I do find myself learning random things but then not being able to connect it or apply it as a whole because of the gaps in my knowledge.

Would appreciate some help! Thanks
First start with the 12 pitches in the chromatic scale, then learn the intervals of each pitch from the first pitch to the last.
After that - learn the C major scale and learn how the intervals are named in relation to it ( major third, 5th, minor third etc.). Practice playing those intervals and singing them. Then learn the harmonized major scale ( i.e. play one chord for each note in the major scale) - and learn how chords are constructed and named in relation to the major scale. Learn what II, V, I means and learn how to name basic chord progressions using the the roman numeral system ( it's all related to the scale).

Those are the first things you need to sort out - and that will take a lot of time. Stick with just the C major scale at first - don't learn a bunch of scales to start since it will confuse you.