Hello,

I have a guitar I've been using for around 5 months now, on and off. No problems. I;d given the guy a break for the last month and a half in the closet, but then brought with me to jam with some guys. When I pulled it out, all strings were slightly flat, so I tuned up. Played for 20 minutes, no problem. Took a break, put the guitar on a stand. 5 minutes later, I hear a sound and I look up to see that the high E string has broken at the tuning peg.

What may have led to this happening?
Metal works like that. You stretch it, it gets looser. Then it gets colder and the tension goes up. Combine that with rust and sharp edge of the peg, and there you go.
shit happens bruh. usually it happens to me when im doin a solo and im at a sick part and im right into it.

your guitar hates you man

EDIT: Why the fuck would you stop playing for a month and a half? people do that?

inhumanly possible, you sure you're not a bassist?
Happened to my classical guitar a few years ago. The G string just broke while I was sleeping (it was stored on the bunk bed above me. Probably wasn't a good idea in the first place). Scared the shit out of me.
If the strings are old and worn, weird things may happen. The weirdest thing that has happened to me so far was the highest string breaking while tuning down.
Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
There's no point in trying to convince a moron.
I can't understand why you would want to play with 5 month old strings anyway. Strings are there to be used and get worn out sooner or later. Get some new strings from time to time and your guitar might sound even better.