I bought an Affinity Telecaster and I am planning on removing the neck pu and replacing the bridge pu with a SD tappable 53. The wiring I am planning might not be possible, but I have no experience making schematics. In position 1 the 53 will be tapped and will bypass the volume and tone, in position two the 53 is full and does not bypass any controls, in position 3, it has the cocked wah mod.
Does anyone have any suggestions or even know how to wire it? (or know anyone that can?) Calling this "50/14 Wiring".
Last edited by 70001407 at Oct 3, 2015,
I could make this but instead I'll help you out. What I'll do is draw something out tonight in photoshop. I haven't seen the cocked wah mod in a while but this can be done for the bypassing. Why the bypass on volume though for the coilsplit is my question? if you bypass the tone control you get a clearer sound (arguably) but the volume control doesn't seem the best of ideas.

On my last tele I did a hybrid of 1950s broadcaster wiring as i got a 1950s reissue squier for next to nothing. But I had a push pull that I tried to fuse american special wiring on it or whatever the greasebucket is on fenders as I'm not a big fender fan of their guitars but fascinated by all their mods. I just flipped the guitar and made 2 or 3x more money so it was all good. I can't believe the amount of replies for some "reliced" guitar that waterslide decal sure was something.
I just think the lack of volume just makes sets it apart from position 2, and I don't really use volume swells or anything while playing. So it's kind of just there because it is something unique to set it apart from other Esquires.
Last edited by 70001407 at Oct 2, 2015,
Would there be any downsides to bypassing volume (other than volume being on 10 at all times)
not that I can see luckily you have a 3 way blade toggle on a tele so this can happen. On a les paul style selector this would be impossible to get those 3 sounds.