okay i'm sure people are growing tired of me going back and forth. I've decided i want a tele and a es 355 style guitar. only problem is that the es 355 is expensive as sht, so lets say i buy a kit of the same wood and neck, as well as the gold hardware, pots, pickups etc... would that have any chance of sounding close to the real thing? i cant decide what i want on the headstock, i like the look of the es 355's logo but also like the look on the epiphone sheraton a bit better, but i dont want the epiphone logo on there, so i was wondering if anyone knew what i could do.. obviously there's stickers but i want one with an actual inlay not just a sticker...

Last edited by GuitarNewbee at Oct 8, 2015,
Semihollows are a much more complicated build than a solidbody. You'd be better off buying a semihollow and building the Tele.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
Semihollows are a much more complicated build than a solidbody. You'd be better off buying a semihollow and building the Tele.

why are they more complicated? not that i dont believe you, just wondering.
A hollowbody or semihollow has to be made in such a way to support the relatively thin, sometimes resonant top. That alone requires a bit more precision than messing with solid blocks of material.

Consider the delicacy of working with something that can be completely broken by carelessness with tools vs materials that- if you damage them- you may need only sand them down a bit for your error to vanish.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Quote by GuitarNewbee
why are they more complicated? not that i dont believe you, just wondering.