Hi. I have been playing guitar seriously for 1 year now, having stopped 10 months after 6 years of experience.

I am a metal guitarist, interested with melodies, and beautiful solos. My main influence include Death (Chuck Schuldiner), The Faceless, Paul Wardingham, Scar Symmetry, some Lamb of God... Jeff Loomis ... and mostly everything else that sounds totally beautiful and mysterious. - - I mean prog metal and the melodic instrumental music.

That being said. I can reproduce some solos of Death, by slowing down the music. And I create licks to ''patch up'' the passages I cannot play either because the phrasing on the CD is too sketchy or too difficult.

I want to get to the next level of playing. So I follow David Wallimann's video lessons, I bought Sam Bell's metal backing tracks package on Guitar Playback.com and I also bought Paul Wardingham's licks - - - but they seem too difficult even if I observe what the tabs mention.

Can you METALHEADS, relate to my experience ? Which direction should I take ? Notice that I took more than 25 lessons in my life and I have proper technique and guitar handling.

Should I transcribe Classic Rock solos ? and get back to the technical stuff after ? Please give me any suggestions. Thanks.
Do you have proper technique, or do you THINK you have proper technique? These are 2 very different things. What I've learned through my 10-11 years of playing is that when you start to believe you have perfect technique, you stop getting better in that aspect. That mentality alone will set you up to never improve much, if at all.

Before I go any further, realize that I am not "good" in a technical aspect, but I can still give you tips. I just haven't put those tips into practice enough myself.