I'm a self taught player of six years, never had a lesson because I'm always struggling to make ends meet. I really struggle writing songs with anything other than the same old first position chords, C-G-F, A-E-D etc.

What I really want to learn how to do is know what barre chords to use and where, with what other chords. I just want to learn what sounds good together. Like my guitar heroes, Elliott Smith and John Darnielle, do. I'm sick of only knowing 6 chords. But I can't really find the exact part of music theory that caters to what I'm talking about. Can anyone help me?
Learn the notes on the low E string and the A string.

These strings will be the roots of the barre chords. Root means the note a chord is bult on.

An E shape barre at the 5th fret will be an A chord because the 5th fret on the E is an A note.

Next I'd learn about scales/keys. If you harmonize the A Major scale you get A Bm C#m D E F#m and G#dim. Stuff like that.

I should say that you'll be playing the same chords you can play open as barre chords. Most songs use a couple of tried and true progressions.
You're confused about music theory and playing guitar. The theory is pretty much completely independent of the instrument that it's played on. If a song calls for a D chord to be played, it's ok to use an open D, any kind of D barre chord, or any other way of playing the notes of a D chord. It's pretty much up to how you want to play it. If you're trying to copy how someone else played the song on a guitar exactly like they did it, that's one thing. But, you're free to treat a song any way you want. That's part of the fun of making it your own.