I'll be the guy to admit that I have no idea who this is, but I'm not an expert in blues. It's sad anyway, especially since you were acquainted.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
Like Kevatuhri I must say have never heard of him but the bio you linked to makes me wonder why I haven't heard of him. Great credentials.
Yes I am guitarded also, nice to meet you.
The longer I've been around the more I'm convinced that there are many many many people out there who can play at "legendary" levels. A lot of the notice is how badly you want to be noticed and a lot of it is just a crapshoot. I think there's a good many at "legendary" levels that just simply don't really want to be noticed at all.

Also, if you go out there and look at it, there's quite a bit of evidence that if you don't join into the satanic, secret society type of inner club, you will be actively suppressed (or even eliminated) at the highest levels of notoriety in the public music realm.

I'm not sure how much all of that is true or not, but I find those arguing both sides of things to be quite compelling. The rabbit-hole can go very deep indeed.

We certainly live in interesting times.
Joe certainly was a a master. RIP!
Scarred for life!

Rig:
Gibson LPC
Jackson DK10D
Fender HM Strat
Custom built Tele-type
Alvarez 5040 Koa
Epiphone 12 string
Blue Voodoo 50
Dunlop 213 slide
Fender M-80 chorus
Digitech Jimi Hendrix Experience
I have a bit of time and I feel like writing something that others might find of interest. Its sort of random, but I find it sort of appealing that this is documented in some fashion in some random corner of the interwebz in a random forum for random readers in the obscure recesses of Musician Talk here at Ultimate Guitar. It's also marginally related to the topic at hand...