Let's take an example here, you are playing chord progression F and G (so same shape but 2 frets apart), and when you do the switch, do you actually raise your fingers so that they don't touch the strings anymore, move them up the fretboard and place them on the G chord, or do you raise them only a little, slide your hand up the fretboard whilst lightly touching the strings and then when you reach the G chords you put pressure on the strings?

I've always been doing it the second way, but lately I've been noticing that those sounds the strings make while I slide my hand up the fretboard don't really do good for the music. I'm guessing when you are plugged it gets even worse?

I've been playing guitar for 5 years but only now have I noticed this....

p.s. I'm talking about acoustic guitar
There's not really a completely right or wrong way, but you do want, for the most part, to lift your fingers off the strings when you change chords. You also want to do it with the most minimal motion that you can.

In some cases you may want some sound effect of sliding a chord up, or you may want to palm mute to reduce the noise.

If you're having trouble changing chords, it might be because you're squeezing the strings and neck. That will always make it much less efficient and difficult for you to change chords. What you really want to get to is letting the weight of your arm and gravity do most of that work for you. So, rather than squeezing your fingers, you're just directing pressures. That way, you fingers will be a lot more nimble.