Can you actually gig with an amp as small as 5 or even 1 watt??? I have been lugging around a hefty 2 x12 for the last 2 years, don't get me wrong it's an amazing amp but I'm curious to know more from the guys who have used a small valve amp and mic'd it up at a gig to full effect. If you want to offer suggestions too please barely in mind it must have an effects loop as i run a guitar processor through it. Thanks guys
INDIE SEMI HOLLOW DOUBLE CUT CUSTOM FOR SALE!!

IBANEZ S470 WITH MIRICLE MAN ADY SD JB PICK-UPS FOR SALE!!

PEAVEY VALVEKING 112 COMBO FOR SALE!!!

PM IF YOU ARE INTERESTED!!
I gigged fairly regularly with a 15 watt Tweaker for a few years. Majority of the time you're gonna be mic'd anyway so it doesn't really matter. Wattage =/= volume necessarily It does equal headroom, though.

I loved it. Single channel though so I had to do some volume knob shenanigans. I much prefer low watt amps.

I keep my renegade in the low power mode.

EDIT: sorry for the redundant intro I got as far as "can you really gig a 1 or 5 watt" and ignored the rest
--

How do you say "I'm okay" to an answering machine?

--
Last edited by stratman_13 at Oct 15, 2015,
Yep, one watt is plenty if you let the mic and PA do the heavy lifting and supply all the needed headroom. I am a small amp guy these days after dragging a 4x12 around for 10 years or so. I often gig with a SuperChamp at 15w with no need to mic for pub gigs. It has some built-in processing like Rev, delay, chorus, flange, but no effects loop.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY