Hi there !

I recently bought Dan's Erlewine second edition of 'How to make your guitar play great'
and i think it's a really great book so far, but there's still one quesion that is left unanswered.. wich is: how do you know how low to set the tailpiece gibson's have..?

is there any standard for it or is it just personal preference ?

i'm still learning the basic's of setting up a guitar but i've been told it's worth learning it, and also alot cheaper for those who have more then 1 guitar
Dan is excellent to learn from. I say the stoptail is personal preference. I like mine super low but Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top actually puts his strings on his stoptail backwards. Gibson guys claim that it gives you more this and that. This is a photo and a link to the gibson.com blog on it.

http://www.gibson.com/News-Lifestyle/Gear---Tech/en-us/There-s-More-Than-One-Way-To-String-An-Axe.aspx