I do not know what is a reasonable price for some budget studio headphones. Of course I am not asking for magic sound quality from cheap headphones. Just something fairly flat to give me a good idea of the mix. I am just starting out so nothing too ridiculous. Budget is > $100 USD. My local music shop has some Yamaha headphones for around $40 but I do not think that is where I need to go.

If you need to know, interface is a Mackie Onyx Blackjack. Often using an SM57 and a PG48. Been using Audacity as my DAW and it has been working fine.

When I asked about interfaces a while back, I was told that it really would not be worth getting anything between a guitar link and the Blackjack, so I just waited until I could get my hands on the latter. So if that is the case with these headphones, that is fine too.

I recently did some work on a pair of Vic Firth SIH1 (I think) and I thought the sound quality was pretty good, and the loudspeaker system at my Church building responded well to the track. So that is what I am mostly looking at. But I hated how they suction-cup to your ears, it was very uncomfortable. Sound-Isolation is not too big a deal for me. (Oof, checking reviews and often one of the drivers goes out.)

Thanks for any recommendation. C:
Last edited by Will Lane at Oct 20, 2015,
Sony MDR-7506
Find a set in good condition used. Quincy Jones, Rob Hoffman and many other top producers and engineers trust these every day. $60-$100

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MDR7506?utm_source=CSE&utm_medium=PPC&zmap=MDR7506&zmac=7&zmas=1&zmam=89202644&SID=1
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Last edited by Cajundaddy at Oct 20, 2015,