Hello all you awesome people.

I am a serious guitar student, who has been learning for about two years now. I've been studying under the head of the jazz department of our local university, so I've had to work really hard. I can now play acoustic, electric, and bass guitar in various styles. So far, I've been learning just classical and jazz, but applying what I've learned on my classical guitar to my steel string, electric, and bass playing to play other genres.

I have always loved my punk rock, and recently I've acquired and interest in learning how to play hard rock/metal, especially the solos. I know that blues soloing is extremely similar to jazz soloing, but I don't know about rock soloing? Will I need to take separate lessons later to learn how to do rock solos, or will I be able to figure it out with my jazz training and the knowledge of the proper scales to use in rock? If I can get away without extra lessons (which I will probably take anyway), what scales would I use for rock/metal soloing?
Well here's the thing, I have have been playing for over 10 years now, but I just turned 17.

If you know about modes, which I'm sure you do if you're studying jazz (if you don't look it up), there are certain modes that people associate with rock and stuff, mostly because they are used more in the genres. I personally have been into djent stuff recently, (the afterimage, tesseract, era) I know, burn me at the stake, but there are awesome things I love about it. It is super heavy stuff sometimes and the rythyms and open string mashing can sounds similar a lot, but the thing about stuff like that they sort of forego all that "play this in this genre and these scales/modes"