I am a beginner guitarist. I have an Ibanez Rg with a fixed bridge. So far the only solos I can play are the intros to Fade To Black, One and Am I Evil and the solo in Nothing Else Matters. I can pretty much nail these.

There's a competition coming up November end, but I can't decide what solo to play. I thought of Stairway, but my .11 gauge strings are too tight for the third bend. I can play decently fast, so I would prefer a solo that's fast rather than one with too many bends, but please don't give something way too fast for a beginner to handle, not very much faster than that fancy part in Fade to Black at least.

It can be a maximum of 2 minutes long. Please help me win this! My first competition and live performance.
Last edited by josonmj at Oct 29, 2015,
Choose whatever you think will win the competition yourself. Choosing the right song is the responsibility of the performer, no?
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
If you want to play stairway and the only thing holding you back are the fact that you can't do the bend on 11s, then just replace the strings!!! That's much easier than learning a new solo.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Orange TV50H 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
hot tip: change strings and set-ups down to 9's and that trophy's in the bag.

i really don't get competition soloing....
Please guys don't be like that. I just got these brand new 11 Ernie Balls please don't make me buy more.

Hey I'm competing with people triple my age or more, can't I get some help deciding at least?
Quote by josonmj
There's a competition coming up November end, but I can't decide what solo to play. I thought of Stairway, but my .11 gauge strings are too tight for the third bend..

Quote by bobafettacheese