I recently bought a used AT100 head and matching cabinet for a low price. I get a distorted clean channel if I turn it up loud. Like a crummy gain sound where I don't want it. It sounds great at low volume. What could this be? I'm new to tube amps. Should I just take it in or is there something I could do/learn to do to fix it?
It could be a bad tube or two.

I suggest you get 2 new 12ax7 preamp tubes and roll them one at a time in the preamp to see if you get anything better sounding. If this doesn't work, then take it to a good tech
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly
It could be a bad tube or two.

I suggest you get 2 new 12ax7 preamp tubes and roll them one at a time in the preamp to see if you get anything better sounding. If this doesn't work, then take it to a good tech

I already put a new tube in to the V1 slot. I did just read about changing the phase inverter tube to a lower gain type. I will take your advice and get some new preamp tubes to change out on it. Can't hurt.
Quote by cotyculbz
I already put a new tube in to the V1 slot. I did just read about changing the phase inverter tube to a lower gain type. I will take your advice and get some new preamp tubes to change out on it. Can't hurt.

Yeah without actually seeing the amp it is just a guess, but that is the cheapest way for you to check by yourself.

Are you sure you put the 12ax7 in V1?
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Robbgnarly

Are you sure you put the 12ax7 in V1?

Positive, I found a schematic online for it and everything
Quote by cotyculbz
Positive, I found a schematic online for it and everything

what brand did you get and was it from a reputable dealer that tests them?
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe