I've never done any (decent) recording before. I'm looking to record my full band. We have to record guitar, keyboard, drums, bass, and vocals. Should I get a mixer or an audio interface? Is it possible to record all of us all at once? What equipment will I need? The only thing I'm not concerned about is the DAW. If you could recommend specific products or Brands, it'd be greatly appreciated. Budget is about $300.
You should read the introduction to recording sticky.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
1) do not get a mixer - they are pointless if you have a Daw.
2) get an audio interface with 8 inputs - Tascam has a cheap one, otherwise Focusrite, Steinberg, Roland etc all make decent interfaces.
3) recording together has its challenges, sound quality being the main one. If you record separately use a click track.
Quote by robpm9995
I've never done any (decent) recording before. I'm looking to record my full band. We have to record guitar, keyboard, drums, bass, and vocals. Should I get a mixer or an audio interface? Is it possible to record all of us all at once? What equipment will I need? The only thing I'm not concerned about is the DAW. If you could recommend specific products or Brands, it'd be greatly appreciated. Budget is about $300.

What are your plans for this recording? Do you want to record multitrack or live stereo? If multitrack do you already have a dozen decent mics to make a live multitrack recording possible?

Maybe a simple stereo demo is a better option on a low budget. Play with mic location and you can often get excellent results with one of these: