Hello,
I've been playing guitar for years now and I recently decided that it's time for me to up my game a bit and play using some pedals. My first amp was a Line 6 Flextone III with the FBV Short board so I never had to learn things about pedals it being a modeling amp and all. Now, I'm playing a Peavey Valveking 100 watt 2x12 Combo and I love the power it has for a small combo amp, but I'm looking to get some higher gain and a little more punch out of setup because I play in a metal band. The problem I'm having is not knowing the correct way to line up the pedals that I have to eliminate unwanted white noise and get a decent tone. SO.... I figured I would post my set up and hopefully some of you people that have actually experience with this would be able to help me out. Since I'm a noob I figured I would also give some justification as to why I purchased each pedal, that I'm currently using.

So to start...
Guitar - Epiphone Futura Custom Prophecy EX with EMG 81 and EMG 85
Pedals - Hardwire Series HT-6 Polyphonic Tuner, Rocktron Guitar Silencer Noise Reduction, Maxon OD-9 Overdrive, Behringer EQ700 Graphic Equalizer, Rogue Analog Delay
Amp - Peavey Valveking 100w 212 Combo Amplifier

I purchased the Rocktron and the HT-6 because they were good deals price wise and the reviews for both were about 98% positive. I have to say that so far I have no problems with either pedal.

I bought the Maxon- because in the war between Maxon Overdrive and the Ibanez tube screamer the bands I really want to model my tone after tend to choose Maxon. (Killswitch Engage, All That Remains, Protest The Hero)

The EQ was sort of on a whim. It was on sale for about 25 dollars and I had read some articles that recommended an EQ if you want certain frequencies to shine through. I like to drop my mids just a bit (not a fool scoop), and I also like my highs pushed for clearer pinch harmonics. (At least, that's what I tell myself).