Hey, guys! It's been a long time since I asked for advice on this forum, but this time I really need help.

Where I am, and where I want to go
I've been playing for 9 years, and my style has changed a lot in those years. In my earlier playing years, I used to play moderately fast, but these days I feel I've become a bit too slow. I feel that my solo playing needs more dynamics, and speed is definitely something that would spice it up. I want to blend some slow playing with some bursts of speed here and there. If you want to get a listen of where I am at the moment, listen to this improv: https://soundcloud.com/thomas-myhren/majorminor-funkbluesimprov

How I plan on doing it
The way I want to go about this is practicing the pentatonic scale with a metronome using various different exercises to connect the different boxes etc. I want to start at a certain BPM, and then increase the speed as I get it cleanly. After working up my speed, I plan on making some fast licks that incorporates a lot of the different boxes at a fast pace, and incorporating this in my playing.

One of my weaknesses
I have noticed that my fingers are slower when playing descending patterns ( like when you play an A minor pentatonic scale from the beginning; "E: 5-8, A: 5-7, D: 5-7 etc."), then when I'm playing descending (once again like A pentatonic: "E: 5-8, B: 5-8, G: 5-7"). This often causes me to rely heavily on descending patterns making my solos predictable and one-sided. So I want to improve my "ascending" fingers. tdlr: I'm playing faster going from the high E to the low E, than the opposite

This turned out to be a longer post than I intended, but I really want to gain some speed in order to enhance the dynamics in my solos. I would be really grateful for some advice, in advance, thanks! I would appreciate it if you would listen to the soundcloud link, in order tpo get a sense of where I am now.
Gear:
2011 Fender American Standard Stratocaster
2012 Tanglewood TW170