I am working on a cool jazz rock tune in C major with seventh chords. The verse uses a III-V-I-VII (Em7, G7, CM7,Bm7b5). The chorus ends walking down from C to F, and ends on a short G7. This is where i need some help for a transitional period. After the chorus I am going Em7, A7, and this is where im lost. I need a way to transition from the A7 smoothly back into the III-V-I-VII progression. I realize this is hard because the C# is an accidental. No matter what i try im having a tough time getting it to not sound really weird when it goes back to Em7. I am pretty new to actual applied theory. Any recommendations would be great, thanks in advance.
Quote by jedke
I am working on a cool jazz rock tune in C major with seventh chords. The verse uses a III-V-I-VII (Em7, G7, CM7,Bm7b5). The chorus ends walking down from C to F, and ends on a short G7. This is where i need some help for a transitional period. After the chorus I am going Em7, A7, and this is where im lost. I need a way to transition from the A7 smoothly back into the III-V-I-VII progression. I realize this is hard because the C# is an accidental. No matter what i try im having a tough time getting it to not sound really weird when it goes back to Em7. I am pretty new to actual applied theory. Any recommendations would be great, thanks in advance.

The classic jazz method would be to introduce the ii-V of Em: that's F#m7b5-B7.
It could work just with B7, or with Am instead of F#m7b5 (but the latter is jazzier!).

BTW, in standard jazz tunes, Bm7b5 wouldn't be used as you're using it. If that's a turnaround back to Em7, then B7 would be more orthodox. Bm7b5 is more commonly used in key of Am, to go to Am via E7. (I'm not suggesting you change your sequence if you like the sound of it. Just offering info.... )
Quote by jongtr
The classic jazz method would be to introduce the ii-V of Em: that's F#m7b5-B7.
It could work just with B7, or with Am instead of F#m7b5 (but the latter is jazzier!).