Ive been playing music for 8 years now and writing for about 5 years. In those 5 years, I have never wrote something that I was completely satisfied with your that gets stuck in my head. Lyrics are never an issue. Its always the melody.

With that being said, my favorite songs are those that you can never seem to get out of your head. Rock or pop. I usually write chords first, then melody, then lyrics. I primarily play rock music. My ultimate goal is to write an amazing rock song with great music and an amazing melody to go over top. How do i even accomplish this? Ive been putting a lot of time and effort into this and nothing ever seems to come out of it.

As a reference!, some of my favorite melodies at the moment are:
James Bay - Hold Back The River
Grouplove - Tongue Tied
Daya - Hide Away
If there was some kind of a secret formula for that, everybody would be writing hit songs. But what pretty much all hit songs have in common is a catchy chorus. Focus on melody. That's what needs to be catchy. It's also good to have catchy lyrics.

Just listen to what you hear in your head. The best melodies are singable. It's far more likely for the melody to be good if you come up with it naturally and not by noodling around on your guitar.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
If we knew the secret, we wouldn't be hanging round here.

And if we told you, we'd have to kill you...

Seriously, the "time and effort" you need to put into it should be focussed on learning as many other great songs as you can.
Why were the Beatles so great? Mainly because of the 100s of songs, of all genres, they'd learned to play in the 5 years before they made it.
Same with Dylan, and any great songwriter you care to name. They studied other people's songs, intensively and for years.