Due to how close Christmas is and there are some decent sales at Bax Shop at the moment, i'm considering getting my first guitar pedal. i started playing late August/early September. is it worth getting a pedal? i play an ESP LTD Viper 10 into a Laney LX65R and im looking for slightly less distortion than the amp offers, i cant quite describe how but it seems to be no difference from 0-7 and then a huge difference at each interval ftom there on. is it just my lack of knowledge or is this something a light overdrive/distortion pedal could help with?
Have you tried turning the volume on your guitar down? It might help.

Otherwise, you can try overdrive pedals, which range from bluesy stuff to AC/DC-type distortion. Probably not worth it to spend money on expensive boutique stuff since you're a beginner, but luckily, even cheap overdrives today are largely really nice.
Digitech Bad Monkey is kind of a classic along cheap ODs, and the Digitech CM2 is reasonably priced, too. If you're in Europe, look into the Harley Benton Vintage Overdrive and Ultimate Drive, as those are very good value for money.

The cool thing about an overdrive is that it can be used to produce overdrive on it's own, but you can also use it to push a tube amp harder, in case you ever upgrade to one. This makes an OD useable across a wide range of styles, and pretty much every guitarist picks one up at some point.
Does your guitar have high output or EMGs in it? Your guitar might not be suited for low gain sounds. EMG recently endorsed a fairly affordable light OD pedal called Nobels ODR-1 that's really good. What is your budget? If you're willing to pay a little more I can recommend you some better ones.
Quote by TheQuailman
Have you tried turning the volume on your guitar down? It might help.