I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now, but I want to start experimenting with different tones. I know nothing about guitar effects or tones, so I am completely new to this. Many people have told me to buy a multi effects board instead of just buying pedals. I was looking at many but still don't know which one to buy. I looked at the BOSS ME-80 but many reviews said it didn't sound good, and I also looked the the Digitech RP1000. My price range is from $150-$300. Anyone know any good boards I can start out with? Thanks!
ME80 is a great unit. Same COSM as the GT100. Easy to use and sounds good. RP1000 is probably a bit too complicated to get the most out of for a new starter with MFX. Digitech RP360 is probably more suited to you.

There are many more out there, you should try some out, check youtube etc. For a first unit I'd avoid POD HD series as they are suited to experienced users with lots of time on their hands. Zoom make some good units now too, avoid old zooms though, their distortions had more fizz than a can of coke.
My gastronomic rapacity knows no satiety.
My experience is based on the ME-50 (older, but better built than Boss's more recent multi effects units). In my opinion, it was great for delays & modulations, but I hated all the drives on it.

My personal recommendation would be the Zoom G5. Great pedal & extremely easy to use. I have the slightly smaller G3 as a permanent fixture on my pedalboard. Like crackerjack said though, avoid their older units - they used to be a budget manufacturer, but when brands like Joyo etc started being cheaper than them they upgraded significantly and are now a valid competitor to the traditionally bigger brands.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud