In the next year or so I would like to get a nice desktop computer and start composing music. Thinking of getting a Mac since that's what I know how to use but what else is out there? Also, what is the best software for recording and composing music? I'm very new to this so if you need me to clarify on something I can try
Baby Joel's rabbit profile picture is kinda cute. #TeamJOEL
Most interfaces will come bundled with software. It may not be the 'premium' version of said software, but if you're just starting out, you'll still suffocate in all the features for a bit. For example, I have a Steinberg UR242, with came bundled with Cubase LE AI Elements 8. They offer a $50 upgrade to the 'premium' version, but I have yet to have a need for it. I also use Reaper, which is a little more straight forward than Cubase, but must be purchased separately; it is not bundled with any interfaces that I am aware of (someone correct me if I'm wrong on that). If you're going to record guitar by way of a direct connection, make sure and get something with a Hi-Z input and pad function. The Hi-Z input is necessary due to the very high impedance of guitar pickups. The pad function cuts the input signal down (usually 10dB) to reduce/eliminate clipping, but typically just setting the gain correctly will forego the need for it. A Mac will come with Garage Band, which will work with most interfaces, and has loads of plugins; not that there is any lack of plugins for any other DAW. I have Bias and Bias FX (plugins for Cubase/Reaper), which are a lot of fun and add a lot of functionality.
ESP LTD H-1007 Dlx | MH-301 | EC-1000 Dlx | Viper 300| Epi SG Spec Ed
Ibanez RG7421 | SA160 | Yamaha G-120 Classical (1972) | F-335 | Squier Mini Strat

Marshall DSL40C | Peavey Classic 30 | Boss ME-50

Steinberg UR242 | M-Audio BX8d2/SBX10