Hey,

I was thinking about replacing the bridge pickup in my Michael Kelly Patriot Glory to a Seymour Duncan SH-8 Invader. It came with Rockfield SWC's and although I like them, I would prefer a lot heavier pickup in the bridge position for rhythm, but I'm not sure if it's worth it.

What do you guys think? Would the Invader fit my LP? Is it worth spending €80 on it? I have no experience in replacing pickups.

BTW, I use a Peavey Bandit 112 with an EHX Metal Muff.

Thanks in advance, I appreciate your help,
Tami
Last edited by tami626 at Nov 19, 2015,
I think you meant bridge for playing lead.. Since bridge pickup is usually hotter than the neck, I use neck for rhythm. I don't own a Mike Kelly guitar so can't provide any useful information there.. If the pickup cavity is wide enough, then should be no problem putting it in.

Someone should chime in soon with more details on how.. You need a good quality soldering iron, solder, wiring diagram from the pickup manufacturer..(ex: Black = hot, bare =ground, each company has their own)
I have Washburn guitars 'Maverick Series' and bass 'Bantam Series' and a few pedals and amps, but man I wish to have more patience and drive practicing my playing, if it's equal to the modding itch, then I'm golden.
Personally I found the Invader too muddy

^ soldering pickups is pretty damn easy if you have even the slightest bit of mechanical know how
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Last edited by Robbgnarly at Nov 19, 2015,
I actually use the bridge pickup for rhythm and the neck for lead almost all the time.
if its too muddy three solutions

#1 adjust the pickup height , the lower the less muddy it becomes
#2 attach a capacitor before the pickups black wire hits the switch 0.01uf to 0.033uf
#3 the fender greasebucket tone control does wonders