So i have a godin redline 1, and im not a big fan of the emg 81 in the bridge. Also, ill be getting locking tuners. Im getting a new valve amp pretty soon, and when i do, im gonna play with the emg when i get my amp for a bit to see if i still wanna keep it. If not, what are some good suggestions for a bridge pickup? Passive prefered over active.

I play a lot of music genres, but the godin redline is my "shred guitar". I play mostly thrash, death, and nwobhm heavy metal

Thanks for the help

Nick

Ps- amp will most likely be a carvin v3m, or a marshall dsl40
Last edited by ngav3 at Nov 21, 2015,
I'd go with the Carvin V3M, myself.

I love Godins...the Redline 1- is that the one with the single EMG in the bridge and a volume knob?

Also, what is your budget?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Yup, thats the one with the single bridge pickup. For the actual pickup, budget is under $150
There is no "best." I could probably name ten models that would all make you very happy, but in different ways.

That said, I'm loving my Seymour Duncan Black Winters. They have a lot of output, are pretty balanced across all frequencies, and very dynamic. Definitely very aggressive and gnarly for thrash, death, and black metal styles. The leads on the neck pickups are superb; very "shreddy" in my opinion. I've never been one to use the neck pickup very much except for cleans, but with the BWs, I'm almost always on the neck pup for leads because they sound so liquidy-good. Cleans are amazing too, on the bridge and the neck. Again, I've never been one to use the bridge pickups for cleans very often, but I do use the BW bridge for cleans fairly often.